Assign User Roles

Version 6

    User Roles determine individual access permissions in Beacon. Each role defines which areas of the Beacon system a user may access and the actions the user can perform within those areas. When users log in to Beacon, they can see only those areas of the Beacon environment that they are authorized to see and use. Beacon includes the following pre-defined roles, each with a standard set of permissions:

     

    ROLE

    CAPABILITIES

    System Administrator

    Users with this role have access to most areas in Beacon. This role is assigned to individuals who will manage users and perform configuration changes to the Beacon system. A user with a System Administrator role can perform the following tasks:

    Account Administration

    • Create, invite, edit and delete users
    • Assign system roles to users
    • Override default device costs

    Print Scout

    • Create, download and configure

    Device Scout

    • Create, download, configure and delete

    Fleet Manager

    • View, edit and export Fleet Manager information
    • Manage device inventory (set devices as in/out of service)
    • Generate reports

    Print Analytics

    • View and explore print data
    • Set business targets for dashboard key metrics
    • Import and manage print users

     

    NOTE: This role should be assigned to a small set of users.

    IT Administrator

    Users with this role can manage users and their assigned roles, deploy scouts, and manage print data views for both Fleet Manager and Print Analytics. A user with an IT Administrator role can perform the following tasks:

    Account Administration

    • Create, invite, edit and delete users
    • Assign system roles to users
    • Override default device costs

    Print Scout

    • Create, download and configure

    Device Scout

    • Create, download and configure

    Fleet Manager

    • View, edit and export Fleet Manager information
    • Manage device inventory (set devices as in/out of service)
    • Generate reports

    Print Analytics

    • View and explore print data
    • Set business targets for dashboard key metrics
    Business Manager

    Users with this role can view all print data in both Fleet Manager and Print Analytics, and have a limited ability to manage the system. It is intended for users responsible for planning the business implications of the print environment. A user with a Business Manager role can perform the following tasks:

    Account Administration

    • Override default device costs
    • View available roles

    Print Scout

    • View installed scouts

    Device Scout

    • View installed scouts

    Fleet Manager

    • View, edit and export Fleet Manager information
    • Generate reports

    Print Analytics

    • View and explore print data
    • Set business targets for dashboard key metrics
    • Import and manage print users
    Print Analyst

    The Print Analyst role allows users to view all print data without seeing any names associated with the transactions in Print Analytics and removes any ability to view or manage the system. A user with a Print Analyst role can:

    Account Administration

    • Not applicable

    Print Scout

    • Not applicable

    Device Scout

    • Not applicable

    Fleet Manager

    • View Fleet Manager information
    • Generate reports

    Print Analytics

    • View and explore print data (no print user information shown)
    Fleet Monitor

    The Fleet Monitor role allows users to view device print data and is blocked from viewing Print Analytics or any level of system management. It is intended for a user responsible for maintaining and understanding the print environment at a tactical level. A user with a Fleet Monitor role can:

    Account Administration

    • Not applicable

    Print Scout

    • Not applicable

    Device Scout

    • Not applicable

    Fleet Manager

    • View Fleet Manager information
    • Generate reports

    Print Analytics

    • Not applicable

     

    Users are assigned a Role when their account is created. You can change a user’s role as needed. It is not necessary to re-invite a user after you update their role. The next time that user logs in, their new role will be in effect automatically. To assign a role to an existing user, you must be logged in as a System Administrator.

     

    To assign a role to an existing user:

     

    1.    Go to Account Profile > System Users.

    2.    Select the user account whose role you wish to change.

    3.    Click the Edit button.

    4.    In the Edit dialog box, in the Role Name field, select the role you want to assign to the selected user.

    5.    Click Save.